It occurred to me recently that I operate in my personal political life (outside of work) in a type of post-persuasion mode. I don’t believe any of my family or friends my age or older can be convinced of anything anymore. We’ve picked our sides, donned our respective teams’ pinnies and are ready to scrum to get our ball over the goal line. And here’s the thing: that’s fine.

Because increasingly each campaign season is about exactly that: the ground game. It’s not some epic battle for the hearts and minds of the voters we know. I post political material on Facebook and Twitter all the time. I don’t do it to convince those who disagree with me. There’s no point. The day I post a pro-choice item and get an email from someone who had been pro-life telling me they’ve come around is the day that I start requiring employers pay me in magic beans for my services. I don’t operate under the delusion that it’s the 100th pro-Obama posting that’s going to do the trick for you Romney fans. Bam! Finally got ya! Welcome to Hopetown! And let’s be honest, most of you have already switched me to “Block until Nov. 7” in your Facebook settings.

This year, as in recent years, the most important thing any of us who are activists can do is get our team members out to the polls. Keeping like-minded voters engaged through social media is a huge part of that. Every post can help get them fired up to knock on doors, phonebank, and donate to candidates. So I’m focused on revving up those who agree with me, not worrying about the politics of those who don’t.

There are about three weeks left until the election. Three weeks until we can go back to focusing on what really matters: what we had for brunch.

